A Spiritual Path, is not dictated by Human Logic; but led by Divine Logic.

Humanitarians who took Jesus’ Life Example as their own….

 

Mahatma Gandhi is known to be the greatest Man of Nonviolence in the Modern Era.  He was able to bring Independence to the largest democracy on Earth, India; through the means of nonviolence.  In fact, to date, India is the only nation on earth which gained it’s independence from its colonial rulers, through such a manner, without war.  He has openly admitted that his life was influenced and inspired by the teaching of Jesus Christ. 

 

Here is what he has said on Jesus Christ:

 

“The message of Jesus as I understand it,” said Gandhi, “is contained in the Sermon on the Mount unadulterated and taken as a whole… If then I had to face only the Sermon on the Mount and my own interpretation of it, I should not hesitate to say, ‘Oh, yes, I am a Christian.’ But negatively I can tell you that in my humble opinion, what passes as Christianity is a negation of the Sermon on the Mount… I am speaking of the Christian belief, of Christianity as it is understood in the west.”

Talking about the Gospel passage of the rich young man, he said, “St. Mark has vividly described the scene. Jesus is in his solemn mood. He is earnest. He talks about eternity. He knows the world about him. He is himself the greatest economist of his time. He succeeded in sermonising time and space – He transcends them. It is to him at the best that one comes running, kneels down and asks, “Good Master, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?” And Jesus said unto him, “One thing thou lackest. Go thy way, sell what thou hast and give it to the poor, and thou shall have treasure in heaven – come, take up the cross and follow me.” Here you have an eternal rule of life stated in the noblest words the English language is capable of producing.” Let us seek first the Kingdom of God and his righteousness, he said, and the irrevocable promise is that everything will be added upon us. “These are real economics. May you and I treasure them and enforce them in our daily life.”

“Of all the things I have read what remained with me forever was that Jesus came almost to give a new law – not an eye for an eye but to receive two blows when only one was given, and to go two miles when they were asked to go one. I came to see that the Sermon on the Mount was the whole of Christianity for him who wanted to live a Christian life. It is that sermon that has endeared Jesus to me.”

“The example of Jesus suffering is a factor in the composition of my un-dying faith in non-violence. What then does Jesus mean to me? To me, He was one of the greatest teachers humanity has ever had.”

“I refuse to believe that there not exists or has ever existed a person that has not made use of his example to lessen his sins, even though he may have done so without realising it. The lives of all have, in some greater or lesser degree, been changed by His presence, His actions and the words spoken by His divine voice… I believe that he belongs not solely to Christianity, but to the entire world; to all races and people, it matters litle under what flag, name or doctrine they may work, profess a faith or worship a God inherited from their ancestors.”

“I want to tell others what I feel so particularly keen about, namely what is called non-resistance, but what is essentially nothing other than the teaching of love undistorted by false interpretations…This law has been proclaimed by all the world’s sages, Indian, Chinese, Jewish, Greek, and Roman. I think it has been expressed most clearly of all by Christ…”

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Humanitarians who took Jesus’ Life Example as their own…. (via Spiritualpoetry’s Blog) « Old Brush Arbors Weblog

  2. Old Brush Arbors

    Oh what a difference that It would make if only we all would admit openly and accept the wonderful teachings of Jesus Christ … There are many treasures In His word… Lord let my life be an example!! … Bro Pat Old Brush Arbors..

    September 27, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    • spiritualpoetry

      I could not agree with you more my Brother. May we all be just as inspired within our lives to testify to the Love that Jesus Christ died for while upholding.

      September 28, 2010 at 2:10 am

Leave a Reply

